U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-26-2013, 12:29 AM

40 posts, read 172,162 times

Advertisements

My husband and I want to move back east. But the more I research, the more depressed I become.

He makes 60K right now, and I'm a full-time student.

His older brothers live in Boston, and they're pretty loaded, so of course they live in nice areas ($$$$)... but the most we could afford is $1500/mo, and want a 2-bedroom apartment.

Is this even possible for a safe area?
(We live in SoCal right now, and police sirens and gang shootings are a multiple-times-a-day occurrence near our current apartment. I want to live in a neighborhood where I feel safe walking by myself and I don't have to triple-lock my doors at night.)

Also, we want to start having children, and it doesn't seem like there are any good school districts in affordable areas.

What are some affordable areas with low-crime?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-26-2013, 06:31 AM
miu

16,471 posts, read 33,437,610 times
What does your husband do for work? How much longer will you be in school? Are you able to easily transfer to another school?

It seems to me that there are two things that you need to research first. See what your husband's job opportunities are elsewhere in the US. And also to see where you can transfer to so you can finish your academic degree.

Also, do you have any money saved for such a big move?

Old 12-26-2013, 06:41 AM
miu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wants2MoveNOW View Post