U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-23-2017, 08:35 AM

2 posts, read 1,451 times

Advertisements

Greetings all. I am a long time user of City-Data, but this is my first post. I am looking for some insights on moving to the Boston area and hope some of you experts can help me out.

About Me:

I am a husband and father of two boys (6 and 9). I am 30 years old and I work in the public transportation industry. I am considering a consulting position in Boston. My family has lived in the Dayton and Cincinnati area for our whole lives, but have made frequent trips/vacations to New England and we are relatively familiar with the east coast. We love the history and environment there. Our family is very much an urban family, but the kids come first and as a result the need for good schools and parks tend to keep us in areas outside of the urban core. For anyone familiar with Cincinnati we currently live in Hyde Park and find it a great mix of close to downtown while still providing the all-important good schools and space for the kids and dog.

Key Considerations

-Boston is way more expensive than anywhere in Ohio, specifically housing. We are looking to rent a first and hope to keep it around $3K per month. Two bedroom is fine, must accept a small dog, and in unit laundry is optimum.

-Schools are very important to us and while I would love to be in the city of Boston my searches show that schools are not ranked very high. Perhaps I am missing details?

-We would need some after school care, but have not found much about that.