Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-16-2008, 01:19 PM

7 posts, read 23,191 times

Advertisements

As someone moving to Boston from another state, where can I go to find a job? I have looked on craigslist, monster, careerbuilder....all of the typical webistes but have had no luck.

I am an experienced professional with a great background , lots of community voluteering, good education....and I just don't understand why it is so hard to get an interview...what am I doing wrong?

Do I need to know the right people?
Do I need to look in different places?
Should I do Temp. jobs?
Where do I go?

It is scary to think that someone working in non-profit/community development can't get a job interview in Boston!

Any suggestions would we great!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-16-2008, 05:39 PM

3,076 posts, read 5,646,838 times
I'm not sure what field your looking in, but with the current fear of recession combined with the fact many jobs have moved from the northeast area, it can be difficult to get a job. You also have to remember that the Boston area has lots of college graduates all fighting for some of the same jobs, so it can be difficult.

Networking is still the best way to go if you can. Look outside of Boston as many companies have moved outside the city limits and some to New Hampshire to cut business expenses. You are probably at a disadvantage being from out of state also, when there doesn't seem to be enough jobs for the people in the surrounding area.

Old 07-16-2008, 07:18 PM