U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports > Boxing
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-24-2013, 11:37 AM

21 posts, read 57,655 times

Advertisements

I'm thinking about buying a Wavemaster standup boxing bag, but I'm new at this. What kind of boxing gloves would I have to get and what size? I'm 5'7.5 and weight no more than 130lbs. Do they sell anything to protect this bag from the rain since it will be outside? What kind of boxing gloves would I have to get? I see they have a lot of options.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-25-2013, 05:10 PM

1,140 posts, read 1,093,146 times
Boxing gloves alone are not enough. You need to buy wraps to protect your hands. Personally, I would get 16 oz gloves to train with.

The best bags are the ones that hang from a support beam.

Old 03-11-2013, 01:35 PM

1,066 posts, read 2,050,983 times
I have the original Wavemaster and have been using it for a couple weeks now. It is not like a heavy bag by any means, but provides a good workout for cardio. As Del Boy said, it's good to get wraps, even though it's not a heavy bag. Also, it's beneficial to use wraps to help keep the bones in place which will benefit in the long run when building bone density.

Be careful though...if you use gloves that do not protect the middle knuckles of your hand (punching bag gloves or mma gloves), most likely they will split or scrape if you haven't hit the bag in a while. Mine did and it was a pain in the rear waiting for it to heal.

Old 03-12-2013, 08:22 AM

28,276 posts, read 26,292,241 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mothman09 View Post