Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > New York > Buffalo area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-09-2008, 03:00 PM

25 posts, read 99,948 times

Advertisements

I am a Buffalo resident and my brother goes to school in Cleveland. Through my many trips to Cleveland I've become familiar with it. It always seemed to me that Cleveland and Buffalo were like two sisters, only Cleveland managed to turn there life around and Buffalo did'nt. Both have similiar max and min population histories. Both had similar industrial heydays. Both even have similar weather and ethnic heritage. Both are smallish cities that seem to have this blue collar monecre (that the residents hate and loath at the same time), but somehow manage to have prestigious orchestras and galleries. With all these similarities, why was Cleveland able to rebound there city (economically and aesthetically) and we are doing worse than ever. Especially when Buffalonians are so loyal to there city and adamant about turning it around--just spend some time on buffalorising.com if you don't believe me.

Last edited by softmachine; 02-09-2008 at 03:02 PM.. Reason: link
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-09-2008, 07:57 PM

922 posts, read 3,861,494 times
Three simple reasons:

Anyway, I can cite three reasons why Cleveland, on the whole, is better off economically than Buffalo: