U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont > Burlington, VT
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 04-14-2011, 08:00 AM

10 posts, read 11,250 times
Default Burlington, Vt vs. Coeur D'Alene, ID

Currently living on Long Island. I went to college in Vermont back in the 90's. The college I went to was in the in the middle of the green mountains but my summers and for 4 years after I graduated I lived in Burlington, Vt. My wife and I want to get off Long Island ( the list of reasons is very long) the only thing keeping us here right now is that we both make around $100k a year (wife is a nurse practitioner and I'm a sales/marketing exec) and we know we wouldn't be making the same salaries in the places we are looking at, but have saved alot through the years and are willing to bite the bullet.

We were considering moving back to the Burlington area, but my wife and I are a little right leaning and Burlington is a little too liberal for our taste nowadays. She did some research and had come up with Coeur D'Alene as an alternative. Climates are close enough, as are outdoor activities, demographics, job market but it seems taxes and utilies are less in Coeur D'Alene and they have less college educated citizens.

Seems that Burlington has more of a downtown area with Church St but i hear that Coeur D'Alene might be revamping McEwan Park so that might improve the downtown area a little.