U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Vermont > Burlington, VT
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-26-2014, 09:23 AM

7 posts, read 15,291 times

Advertisements

Hello there, I am a current medical student who has applied to mostly NE areas for residency. Will be moving next July. One of the places I applied to is University of Vermont.

The reason I applied to Vermont is because I am so tired of the densely populated area of Northern NJ. I am tired of ghettos after ghettos. Tired of the aggressive rude people. Tired of the pollution and trash. I thought

Vermont would be a nice change. I am currently married.

One thing that scares me is that I am reading, and it sounds that Burlington is a pretty small city, and it is boring. I mean, my pastime with my husband is just eating out, and swimming at the beach. We are not so much about the nightlife, but we occasionally visit gay bars about twice a year. lol. Also, our in laws are 32 hours in Upstate NY. We are in our late 20's, going to be 30 in a couple of years. Does Burlington sound like a place for us??

Also, I was disappointed with the cost of living. Thought it would be cheaper. I will be making 52K, while my husband will make around 15K working part time. Is this good enough to live in Burlington or the surrounding??
Quick reply to this message

Old 11-26-2014, 11:53 AM

3,327 posts, read 8,753,215 times