U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada > Calgary
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-17-2014, 12:47 PM

1 posts, read 1,095 times

Advertisements

Hello there.

I've been reading several topics here about moving, but none with my concerns.

Quick intro:
I will be moving to Calgary in October with my wife and our dog. She will be working at U of C with everything already on the way. I'm a Software Developer with more than 10 years of experience in MS .Net. I will get an Open Work Permit, so no job offerings yet.

I'm having a bad time trying to find an apartment close to Red Line C-Train. Which I believe is the easiest way to get to U of C.

What is the normal procedure to find a good place?
Use RentFaster and other websites, call Landlords as soon as I get to Calgary to schedule a visit?
What can I do before get to Calgary? Landlords give attention to people that is not in town yet?

IT companies are concentrated in downtown? Or somewhere else?
(which makes the distance to C-Train even more importante when chosing an apartment).
Best recruitment website for IT positions? Monster.ca?

Can someone point me good stores to buy winter clothes?

What about mobile. Telus? Bell? Rogers?

Thanks and sorry for some silly questions.

Last edited by rodKings; 09-17-2014 at 01:56 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-18-2014, 05:31 AM

210 posts, read 633,524 times
Welcome to Calgary!