U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-11-2010, 05:52 PM

1 posts, read 26,877 times
Default Best places to live in California for a young family??

Hello all!
I'm a young mom (mid-twenties) with a toddler looking for affordable, safe places to live in California. I've been working in the health field for several years now, and have a fairly good amount of money saved up, and have no problem living in an apartment or condo. I have a TON of family in the Los Angeles area (I'm from there originally), however, I dont want to live somewhere that is THAT crowded. I dont need to live on the coast, but would like the beach to be 2 hour or less drive. I dont mind the heat too much (I currently live in Phoenix lol), but I prefer the weather a bit cooler. Any suggestions?? Oh yes, I dont want to live TOO up north
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-11-2010, 06:37 PM

26,365 posts, read 51,646,460 times
Depends on your job situation. Where will you be working? Ideally near your family support network.
Rent or buy?
Budget?
Spouse? Working?

Old 10-11-2010, 07:06 PM

1,684 posts, read 1,318,127 times
CA is a BIG state, so you will probably receive a lot of options. I will give you one option:

Temecula, CA. It is in the Inland Empire region. About an hour NNE of San diego. The nearest beach is Oceanside/Carlsbad about 45 minutes away.

Pros: