U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-27-2011, 01:08 PM

1,806 posts, read 3,370,339 times

Advertisements

What's the difference between a salesperson versus a broker in terms of real estate licensing in CA?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-27-2011, 02:22 PM

15,564 posts, read 36,476,154 times
A real estate salesperson must work under the supervision of a broker. A broker needs no supervision. The broker exam is longer and more detailed/complex than the salesperson exam. I'm a lawyer with a broker license, so I didn't have to take all the broker classes - I already had those in law school. A non-lawyer has to have a 4 year college degree or have worked as a real estate salesperson for a certain number of years before becoming eligible to take the broker exam.

Old 04-27-2011, 02:52 PM

1,806 posts, read 3,370,339 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twinkle Toes View Post
A real estate salesperson must work under the supervision of a broker. A broker needs no supervision. The broker exam is longer and more detailed/complex than the salesperson exam. I'm a lawyer with a broker license, so I didn't have to take all the broker classes - I already had those in law school. A non-lawyer has to have a 4 year college degree or have worked as a real estate salesperson for a certain number of years before becoming eligible to take the broker exam.
For the lawyer waiver, what courses are required from law school? Update: Found the list, my courses are similar enough (hopefully they won't give me a problem).