U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-24-2011, 07:29 PM

7,150 posts, read 8,801,998 times

Advertisements

A poster in another thread wrote (snarkily) that she could tell I "wasn't a 'native' Californian". This amused me quite a bit. It's true: I'm not. But when I asked for an explanation of what identified me as an "alien", she wouldn't respond. (She, herself, is also NOT a 'native' Californian.) Now, I have been a resident of California at times since 1966, when I was 17. Though I have maintained other residences in Washington and Hawaii, -- including what I consider my primary in WA -- I have had seven (7) different residences in the Bay Area, San Joaquin Valley, and SoCal over the past 45 years. Not P.O. boxes -- actual physical residences with doors and windows and such

Okay ... I was born in the mid-west, but my oldest child was born in California -- yet only lived there as a baby -- not since. So the kid is a "native-born Californian", I am not. What would identify her as such? Anybody think they can identify a "native" just by some quality of birth? Heh. Ok, obviously not. But can any of you readers, whether native-born or not, define a "native Californian", at all?