U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 10-28-2011, 01:12 PM

159 posts, read 390,826 times

Advertisements

Do you like California's diversity?

I'm 18, NorCal born and bred, and have been most of everywhere in my state. However, I've only spent a few days in Southern California and that wasn't much so I hope to get down there more often. I'm of mixed Chinese-Irish heritage but look more Asian. My background is pretty mixed. I live an hour north of SF and my city has a large Hispanic population, but not a whole lot of Asians despite it being only 45 minutes north of San Francisco.

So question is, don't you love CA's diversity? Many people are not fond of the rapidly growing Hispanic population which people accuse of many being the stem of illegal immigrants and anchor babies. There are some elementary schools in my city that 95% Hispanic. Believe it or not, 51% of CA's public school students are Latino. I just love CA's diversity. Many Chinese people in SF, many Mexicans and Central Americans that speak Spanish everywhere, many Vietnamese and Chinese in Silicon Valley, plenty of Koreans, Armenians, Middle Easterners in LA, and Filipinos in many cities, etc. Pacific Islanders in various cities. It's just that we got it all.

You can find pretty much any type of ethnic restaurant in the state, or in a single metropolis, in the state of California. Depending on where you go, you can hear a variety of different languages from all over the world. It's just great.

Old 10-28-2011, 02:11 PM

1,472 posts, read 3,006,184 times