U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-18-2011, 11:37 PM

5 posts, read 27,904 times

Advertisements

I am currently a new transfer student at Cal Poly Pomona. I do not like it. primarily because I am in engineering and it seems like all the other engineering students are nerdy, socially awkward and of some sort of minority, while I am white. I am not sure if this demographic and style of people will be consistent in all engineering programs.

I have heard that SLO students are more ritzy, upper class, snobbish, sophisticated, etc.....Not sure if this will be true in the engineering department. I plan on riding up there to check out the town on Thanksgiving. I know its probably gonna be a bad time to get a true veiw of the place. I also love traveling, so everything new is always awesome and fascinating to me.

One thing I might have a problem with is that I like living in an urban setting, especially big metropolitan cities. I hate the countryside and would only consider living there if I had a significant other or something along those lines.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-19-2011, 07:36 AM

6,390 posts, read 7,335,770 times
Quote:
I have heard that SLO students are more ritzy, upper class, snobbish, sophisticated, etc...
Quote:
I hate the countryside and would only consider living there if I had a significant other or something along those lines.
You do know that Cal Poly SLO has long been known as Cow Piley. It is full of aggies and horse people and really really cute cowgirls.