Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-30-2011, 10:37 AM

25 posts, read 32,879 times

Advertisements

Hi!!
I live in Maryland right now, and I want to relocate to California and just kind of start fresh. I am 21 years old, African american, I am a freelance Makeup Artist and Event Planner. I also do web design. My interests however are Music Promoting,producing, radio hosting, and singing.

Im looking for:

1. affordable living( Up here I pay $1,400 a month for a 1bd/ w/loft apt.)So, somewhere around that price.

2. Good colleges?

3. Somewhat of a nightlife...

4. A safe environment.

5. Diversity.. is somewhat important to me...I get along with all races and I stay to myself most of the time but, I just don't want to be in an area, where the people are rude just to be rude.
Also, it would be nice to be around other people my age.

I heard Oxnard was a good location...and maybe Oakland?

Also...is a car really needed in Cali, or is there public transportation?

Thanks in advance!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-30-2011, 11:11 AM

2,190 posts, read 6,851,151 times
I'd drop the "cali" and come out for a visit and travel up and down the coast (you'll probably want to be on the coast) so that you can gain more focus and awareness about a very huge and diverse state (culturally and environmentally).

Old 11-30-2011, 11:13 AM

6,390 posts, read 9,683,178 times
Do you speak Spanish? Just about everyone in Cali does. Not much diversity though. Mostly Columbians..