Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-12-2012, 10:24 PM

5 posts, read 9,623 times

Advertisements

I'm trying to decide where to move. I've narrowed it down to San Diego, San Fran, or Portland. These are my 3 favorite places. San Diego weather is a little warm for my taste though, which is one reason I think I would fit well in Portland or Nor Cal, although San Diego is beautiful. I'm a writer so I can work from anywhere and my husband fixes airplanes so he can work at any airport. Can people please tell me which of these 3 places they would prefer to live and why.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-12-2012, 10:52 PM

14,044 posts, read 27,109,333 times
Depends upon your priorities.

If you like a sunny and beach oriented atmosphere then San Diego is a clear choice.

San Francisco has the largest downtown area, with a ton of things to see and do along with incredible vistas. However, it is an exceptionally crowded area and very expensive.

Portland is colder then San Francisco or San Diego in the winter, by a significant degree. It has a pleasant downtown area and a lot to do in and around town, with great local places to walk or hike. It also is the rainiest area of the three, with the most overcast days. However, it is much cheaper to live there and has very little in the way of "bad areas" to avoid.

Old 01-13-2012, 01:38 PM

5 posts, read 9,623 times