U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 02-10-2012, 08:53 AM

6 posts, read 9,930 times
Default International Student - SDSU or UCSB ?

Hello!
Im going to spend a semester in the states (fall 2012) and have to decide between SDSU and UCSB. Im studying biochemistry (undergraduate) and im 22.
So i know the UC is the better college respective the academic side. But thats not soo important to me, because for this semester im searching for the best overall experience.

So what about the social life?
In Isla vista living only students whats probably quite great. What about SD? I'd like to live near the beach. Is pacific/mission beach also full of students or dont you find this feeling there but only near the college?
Which city has to offer more in all?
What about the night life? I like to partying but not so much expensive clubs with dresscode and so. I think nevertheless SD has more opportunities but i would also like these typical house parties; clubs and bars are also in germany I think SB is the better place for that and i heared that in SD its difficult to get into such a party if youre a guy and no frat member. is it the truth or are there even open house parties?

so what du you think, where can i have the better time?
Quick reply to this message

Old 02-10-2012, 09:04 AM

12,396 posts, read 13,409,679 times
Santa Barbara is FAR smaller than UCSB.. I mean UCSB is OK, but it isn't one of the elite UC's. It is below UCB, UCD, UCLA, UCSD, and possibly even UCR/UCI these days.