Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 02-11-2012, 10:13 PM

52 posts, read 61,776 times

Advertisements

Okay well I'm from the East coast obviously and I graduated High School on June 16th of '11. I pretty much was forced to take the year off due to my horrid home life (believe me), and during the year I spent some of my savings on a trip throughout California and honestly that was the best week of my life.

Anyhow, I really want to get my life started now and if possible, I'd like to do so in California. I heard it's cheaper to go to colleges with 100% acceptance rates as well as community colleges.. especially out of state, and I saw quite a few schools.

Is it a dumb idea for me to go all the way there to start a new life? I want to go for GE(General Education).

The plan would be to get in a school with campus housing, get a job, and during breaks and summers and what have you, just get housing off campus.

I seriously dream about California and honestly the West in general since I've been all across it. I want to achieve my dream before it's too late and I feel like if I stay here I'll just waste my life and be nothing. I'm a smart guy.. I have dreams and aspirations.

Anyhow.. is my idea possible? Is it ridiculous?

Thanks!

Old 02-11-2012, 10:26 PM

2,190 posts, read 6,835,918 times
You're most likely going to get a lot of discouraging posts in response to yours.
I'd just take the practical / logistical advice and let the negative words go.