U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-18-2007, 04:24 PM

1 posts, read 10,874 times

Advertisements

Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie to this forum. I have posted on other sites but I still need help with my situation:

I have lived in my apt for 1 year in Aug. It's a month-to-month in W. Hollywood. The "agent" who collects the rent, lives in a town pretty far away so he comes and collects my rent check usually on the weekend before the 1st (the day my rent is due).

The rent checks were always deposited on or after the 1st, but this last time he collected the rent check, it was deposited on the 30th which is before the rent is due...

I have direct deposit so the money isn't there until the 31st or the 1st. Since he deposited it before that time, the check didn't clear and I had to pay a NSF charge... and then I received a call on the 11th that the check bounced and I needed to pay a late fee.

I resent a new rent check including a late fee. And I wrote that I would be post-dating the checks for the 1st. However, I read that most banks don't honor post-dating and the check could be deposited again before the 1st and I would end up paying another NSF fee and late rent fee.

What do I do???
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-19-2007, 07:42 AM

2,071 posts, read 11,429,068 times
Mail him the check on the 30th and he should have it on time by the 1st or 2nd.

Old 09-19-2007, 09:00 PM

80 posts, read 175,589 times