U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-10-2011, 09:56 AM

7 posts, read 9,967 times
Default How Difficult is it to move from US to Canda?

I'm an American citizen and would like to move to Vancouver but am not sure what kind of hoops i'll have to jump through just to move into Canada.

I don't qualify as a "skilled worker" even though i'm a construction project manager. I don't qualify as an entreprenuer or an investor either. Is there any kind of easy to get a permanent residency card?

I mean, i'm a straight, attractive, young, ambitions, white, American male. Something I expect any country would welcome.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-10-2011, 10:54 AM

8,690 posts, read 4,129,700 times
Well, what I would suggest to you is to get in touch with an immigration lawyer in Vancouver and get the ball rolling. I think you have made a wise decision. Van is just too cool! I just really love that city and if it were not for the fact that I have 6 kids living here in the east I would move there myself. So, the very best of luck to you in your quest.

Old 03-10-2011, 11:34 AM

3,548 posts, read 4,467,241 times
You probably haven't looked at the Immigration Canada website in a long while. Have a look, they've changed the skilled workers category to skilled trades, mostly -- especially skilled trades supervisors are needed:

215 Contractors and Supervisors, Carpentry Trades
7216 Contractors and Supervisors, Mechanic Trades