U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-24-2011, 05:37 PM

63 posts, read 175,006 times

Advertisements

Hello all,

I'm currently a sophomore in college at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in the US. One of my two intended majors (Global Communications) requires at least one semester studying abroad; however, I'd like to spend my entire junior year in another country. Of the places I'd like to go, Canada seems to be the obvious choice for the following reasons:
  • I'd like to live in an English-speaking country. It's not because I'm afraid of learning another language or being immersed in a drastically different culture; my other intended major is English Language & Linguistics, so one requirement is that I must go somewhere where I can continue studying that.
  • It seems to be a far better political climate for me; not only am I incredibly liberal, I'm also not vehement about politics. My general impression from lurking in this forum is that Canadians, while passionate about social/environmental causes, don't spend all of their free time yelling at those who disagree with them like a lot of Americans do.
  • I live for cold weather. Being from Minnesota (and now living in Wisconsin), I have a general idea about summers and winters in Canada and am comfortable with the freezing winters. Lots of rain is also a plus.
  • I've always had a general admiration for Canada in general, really.