U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-19-2013, 01:17 AM

91 posts, read 158,846 times

Advertisements

I studied in Canada for two years before returning to India(home country). Over there I went by my short name- Rishi- as it was easier for the locals. Obviously even my bank account there was under my short name.I worked, payed taxes and regularly used my bank account.

Now I am back here and I got a check from the government of Canada for the income returns I had filed. It is a substantial amount for me. The only problem is- No bank here is accepting the check because the name doesn't match. Over here I use my real name and all my bank accounts are under my real name. They say that the name has to match for the check to get cashed. Is it legit or just bullcrap.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-19-2013, 03:06 AM

4,173 posts, read 2,942,564 times
Can you append your account for your short name?
Or have the bank put a hold on funds until the check clears?
Or endorse the check as "Rishi" and deposit?

Old 08-19-2013, 10:53 AM

1,263 posts, read 2,775,067 times
Can you get the money wired instead of sent by check? Or re-open an account at your Canadian bank, deposit the check and use the money by debit card?

Old 08-20-2013, 07:21 AM

10,531 posts, read 8,784,204 times
A bribe is in order, correct?

Old 08-20-2013, 07:26 AM

2,713 posts, read 2,285,534 times
Witness protection plan causing all sorts of headaches.

Old 08-22-2013, 01:33 AM

3,275 posts, read 3,703,228 times