U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 11-19-2007, 01:49 AM

4 posts, read 22,294 times
Default Student to Permanent Resident: Possible?

Hi all,
I'm a current college sophomore in the States, majoring in social work. I'm considering getting my MSW at a Canadian University (that is, if they admit me!) and then staying to work in Canada away from the larger metropolian areas (so I'm not one of those foreigns looking to clog up the GTA!). I know about the post-grad work program through reading the CIC webpage, but my question is how difficult is it in reality to go from being a foreign student to a permanent resident?

Also, if anyone knows, how's the job market for social workers in Canada?

Thanks.
Quick reply to this message

Old 11-19-2007, 10:50 AM

42 posts, read 133,240 times
I really don't know the answer to your questions, but this website might help:

Settlement.Org: How do I apply for Canadian Citizenship?

Old 01-23-2008, 07:23 PM

21 posts, read 87,821 times
Once you have studied here you can get a visa to work for up to one year after. During that time you could possibly apply for PR as a skilled worker. Social Work - depending on the area is in high demand check workopolis dot com and or eluta dot ca.
If you are willing to work in the more northern areas - better for you.
best of luck

Old 01-23-2008, 07:45 PM

645 posts, read 1,661,209 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by losttrini View Post
Once you have studied here you can get a visa to work for up to one year after.