Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive > Car Insurance
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-06-2008, 12:31 PM

288 posts, read 1,555,304 times

Advertisements

What is a safe amount to carry? I know the state mininums, but I wanted something which would cover me if I were to hit someone. I feel 25/50/25 would suffice. I know there is no right or wrong answer for this. Right now I basically having nothing to my name, if this helps. I'm a 24 y/o student.

AK
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-06-2008, 12:35 PM

38,707 posts, read 103,185,348 times
Get enough to cover your assets. That's the purpose of insurance. No need for a $300K policy limit if you don't have $300K in net assets and don't reckon you will any time soon. If you're a broke college student with nothing to your name, consider getting the statutorily minimum coverage.

Old 03-06-2008, 12:44 PM

I guess I don't fully understand this 100%. I know I could call the insurance company, but it's easier to ask here.

If I hit a car worth alot and medical expenses were much over what my policy covered would it be possible for me to get sued for money I don't have now, but will have in say five to ten years? I know I will have good money in a few years, but right now all I have is debt.

Old 03-06-2008, 12:49 PM