U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Caregiving
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-18-2014, 02:05 AM

459 posts, read 464,647 times

Advertisements

I am new to caregiving so am wondering if this behavior is normal. My husband and I are in our early 30's and we just moved my 98 year-old grandma in last month. She likes her room and doesn't seem depressed or anything but does not want to leave her room. She does have hearing and vision issues that we took her to the doctor for and she has hearing aides and glasses but there is not much more they can do since everything is age related.
Everyday I ask if she wants to come eat with us for breakfast and dinner and she prefers to take her meals in her room. She refuses to go for a walk (she walks a bit then I push her in wheelchair) or even sit outside on her patio. She says she is tired. I understand she has a right to be tired at her age but I can't see how she would be happy sitting in one room all day long. Is this normal behavior? Any advice on how to get her to come out of her shell? Thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-18-2014, 06:37 AM

2,278 posts, read 2,337,317 times