U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Memorial Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Pets > Cats
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-03-2013, 11:45 AM

77 posts, read 89,967 times

Advertisements

I have a feral cat in my back yard (born there!) who I've been feeding since 2006. We want to move next Spring and I'm trying to go over my options. I don't know what to do. He is neutered and 7 years old, completely feral and does not come near us.

So far I've come up with several EXTREMELY UNAPPEALING options:

A. Try to persuade a neighbor to continue feeding him. This seems unlikely because my next door neighbor is elderly, the other neighbors have a small child and never even go in their backyard. I would even pay the person to do it but I don't know who!!!

B. Try to move the cat. Again, this would be stressful for everyone and there's no guarantee he wouldn't just run outside and die in a strange environment once we get there. Has anyone done this? Would a cat be able to get used to a new territory altogether?

C. Put the cat to sleep. Sounds cold but I'd rather have him die than lose everything familiar to him-- our feeding routine, my talking to him in the morning, etc. Would a shelter or vet do this, or is it unethical? Is it illegal?

D. Abandon the cat. There is a slim chance he'll survive since I don't think his Mom taught him how to hunt. I've only ever seen him eat our food.

Is there another option I am missing? Has anyone ever done this? I have until March or so to figure it out. Please help with experiences or suggestions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message