U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 06-04-2013, 07:39 AM
 
13,773 posts, read 34,294,874 times
Reputation: 10569

Advertisements

I have had several different cell phone companies (Verizon, Tmobile, Sprint) and not one has more than one bar when I am at home. Right now I have AT&T (Straight Talk) with a ZTE smart phone. Is there anything I can do to get a better signal? I don't want to spend a fortune on buying a cell booster which I saw online for over $200.

Any suggestions/help would be greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 06-04-2013, 07:59 AM
 
Location: Ocala, FL
3,458 posts, read 6,337,397 times
Reputation: 3088
At&t does offer a home phone/cell phone hybrid system that might help. Check with their customer service or check it out at a retail store location. Hopefully it might work for you. I am afraid that I don't have any more details
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-04-2013, 08:26 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,850 posts, read 13,978,818 times
Reputation: 8083
I'm in the same boat. I get ONE bar of 4G. One. I live in CLEVELAND, Ohio. The 8th market to get Verizon 4G. I don't live in a suburb. I live IN the city... and get one bar. So annoying. Called VZW "Oh you can buy an extender for $250...."
Really? That's your answer?

Makes me ill when I see the commercials that "We have the largest 4G network"... yea and in one of the largest cities in the US (top 30) I get A bar? Ridiculous.

So I just use WiFi at home.
Of course in the suburbs and even out in Amish Country I get 4-5 bars....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-05-2013, 08:57 AM
 
Location: Forests of Maine
31,151 posts, read 50,336,736 times
Reputation: 19856
Search online, find the nearest repeater tower to your home. Find what company owns that tower.

When I moved to this location, that is what I did. I found the nearest tower. I found who owned it. I got service from them.

All TV ads are marketing. They are fantasy. Their claims are useless.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-05-2013, 09:01 AM
 
Location: New England
187 posts, read 270,486 times
Reputation: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
I'm in the same boat. I get ONE bar of 4G. One. I live in CLEVELAND, Ohio. The 8th market to get Verizon 4G. I don't live in a suburb. I live IN the city... and get one bar. So annoying. Called VZW "Oh you can buy an extender for $250...."
Really? That's your answer?

Makes me ill when I see the commercials that "We have the largest 4G network"... yea and in one of the largest cities in the US (top 30) I get A bar? Ridiculous.

So I just use WiFi at home.
Of course in the suburbs and even out in Amish Country I get 4-5 bars....
I have a similar experience. I live outside Hartford, CT where Verizon is typically great, but our house is in a little valley and I may get 1 bar inside the house if I'm lucky. I ALWAYS use wifi when I'm at home and it makes the phone usable where otherwise it wouldn't be.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-07-2013, 02:30 PM
 
Location: 92037
4,631 posts, read 9,009,100 times
Reputation: 1946
Keeper,

You wont be able to use an AT&T microcell unfortunately as you are on Straight Talk. The microcell requires signing up for via AT&T, but only if you have AT&T.

What kind of 'booster' did you see online?

I am afraid I dont have any good suggestions for you based on the pay as you go service you have now.

T-Mobile, does in fact have some devices that have WIFI calling apps that come with the phone. IN short, it connects with your WIFI network and creates a bridge of sorts, between your cellular coverage and WIFI signal. All calls are still part of your minutes etc.

A more progressive alternative would be to just get a whole new number completely through Google Voice or Skype and use it as VoIP. There was another thread about someone looking to do this as well a couple of months ago if I recall.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...om.gvoip&hl=en
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-09-2013, 09:36 AM
 
Location: New York City
4,036 posts, read 9,061,162 times
Reputation: 3723
Do you have WiFi at home? If so you could use a service provider, like T-Mobile, with WiFi calling. It'll save on your minutes used and have a more reliable signal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-09-2013, 01:36 PM
 
Location: Forests of Maine
31,151 posts, read 50,336,736 times
Reputation: 19856
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpk-nyc View Post
Do you have WiFi at home? If so you could use a service provider, like T-Mobile, with WiFi calling. It'll save on your minutes used and have a more reliable signal.
WiFi from DSL or dial-up? Does not get you a phone call.

If they have T-mobile then they would already have cellphone signal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top