U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 07-02-2013, 07:27 PM
 
Location: New Orleans, LA
1,764 posts, read 3,978,947 times
Reputation: 665

Advertisements

Why my Galaxy S2 phone say my memory is full even though I have a 64gb SD Micro Card installed?

Even though in the phone settings that my card say's it has over 59gb of data the phone still say's that the memory is full amd I have to delete some space.Should the phone automatically switch over to the Sd card when the phone's memory itself is full?23 minutes ago*-*1 week left to answer.

Additional Details

My Galaxy S2 is the Atnt 4.5 inch screen model also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-02-2013, 09:55 PM
 
3,160 posts, read 8,212,982 times
Reputation: 1982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackandgold51 View Post
Should the phone automatically switch over to the Sd card when the phone's memory itself is full?
No. You have to move apps or data to the SD card yourself.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-02-2013, 10:40 PM
 
Location: New Orleans, LA
1,764 posts, read 3,978,947 times
Reputation: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcity View Post
No. You have to move apps or data to the SD card yourself.
I did, but the phone reads "SD Card is full" even though there's over 59gb available
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-02-2013, 10:43 PM
 
Location: Ocala, FL
3,441 posts, read 6,325,964 times
Reputation: 3066
You may have to reformat the SD Card. Is it new or did you use it in a previous phone?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-03-2013, 06:40 AM
 
Location: New Orleans, LA
1,764 posts, read 3,978,947 times
Reputation: 665
New
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-03-2013, 06:47 AM
 
Location: New Orleans, LA
1,764 posts, read 3,978,947 times
Reputation: 665
Quote:
Originally Posted by dontaskwhy View Post
You may have to reformat the SD Card. Is it new or did you use it in a previous phone?
Also when I try to move the apps to the sdcard, the phone say's it's full......even though the card reads that it has over 59gb.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-03-2013, 07:02 AM
 
Location: Ocala, FL
3,441 posts, read 6,325,964 times
Reputation: 3066
What about a reformat ?? Could be a defective card.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-03-2013, 11:35 AM
 
Location: 92037
4,631 posts, read 9,003,577 times
Reputation: 1946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackandgold51 View Post
Why my Galaxy S2 phone say my memory is full even though I have a 64gb SD Micro Card installed?

Even though in the phone settings that my card say's it has over 59gb of data the phone still say's that the memory is full amd I have to delete some space.Should the phone automatically switch over to the Sd card when the phone's memory itself is full?23 minutes ago*-*1 week left to answer.

Additional Details

My Galaxy S2 is the Atnt 4.5 inch screen model also.
Lets backtack here.

- When does it give you this message?
- What does your phone's internal memory show?
- Did you just get the SD card? Have your formatted it?

Have you tried clearing the cache of some of your apps?
Settings>Apps> start with Play Store and go from there. Just select an app and select clear cache or data.
Apps and browser will be your biggest culprits.

Otherwise, everyone else here is spot on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-05-2013, 09:20 AM
 
Location: Cary, NC
34,277 posts, read 59,597,037 times
Reputation: 33307
The S2 is designed for a max 32GB card. See the bottomof the right column.
http://www.samsung.com/us/mobile/cel...WAATT-features

Here is a chat on TomsHardware about getting a 64GB card to work:
Galaxy S2 (Sprint Version) with 64GB micro SD - Android - Cell Phones & Smartphones
It seems that rooting the phone is required.

NOTE: Clicking the links on Toms is at your own peril!

Last edited by MikeJaquish; 07-05-2013 at 09:55 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-20-2013, 03:01 PM
 
2 posts, read 17,033 times
Reputation: 11
I have 16GB sdcard and i still get no space delete files etc i transfered 8 gb off card still get same message akways ckean cache my internal space says beween 650mb and 1 gb
And get message ....using S2 galaxy phone with virgin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:51 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top