U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 10-04-2019, 07:36 AM
 
Location: Wartrace,TN
5,820 posts, read 9,211,044 times
Reputation: 11585

Advertisements

I use tracfone and decided to upgrade my old Samsung Luna phone to a new Samsung S7 (Yes I know it isn't top of the line but neither was the Luna )

The S7 in the week I have had the phone it isn't getting as good a signal as the old Luna did. I drove into town yesterday and there was one bar the whole way whereas my old phone would have 4 to five bars in some spots.

I have reseated the sim card and reset the network on the phone. My question is this; is it possible the phone has a defect and needs to be returned? I know I need to contact tracfone about it but I like to get others opinions before discussing it with them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-04-2019, 07:43 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,820 posts, read 13,961,605 times
Reputation: 8055
Quote:
(Yes I know it isn't top of the line but neither was the Luna )
No one will judge you here.


You bought it FROM Tracfone? It is entirely possible, of course. You need to call them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-04-2019, 11:20 AM
 
Location: Ocala, FL
3,449 posts, read 6,328,246 times
Reputation: 3076
The S7 is at least 4 years old from the original manufacture date. Check with the carrier for troubleshooting. Did you get a new SIM card? Do you have the latest system updates? I have the same phone in reserve if my current S9 is lost or damaged.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-04-2019, 12:57 PM
 
Location: Wartrace,TN
5,820 posts, read 9,211,044 times
Reputation: 11585
Quote:
Originally Posted by dontaskwhy View Post
The S7 is at least 4 years old from the original manufacture date. Check with the carrier for troubleshooting. Did you get a new SIM card? Do you have the latest system updates? I have the same phone in reserve if my current S9 is lost or damaged.
It is a "new" purchase from tracfone so I am assuming it is a new tracfone sim card. I just figured out how to set the phone to CDMA (3G) which the old Luna phone is set to. I am going to go out and test it in some of the dead spots.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-04-2019, 03:15 PM
 
Location: Southeastern North Carolina
1,953 posts, read 3,364,914 times
Reputation: 3480
I had an S7 Edge, CDMA for a couple of years. I used the Tracfone service, on Verizon towers, and it did seem to me that the signal was not as good as my previous LG phone. It was always roaming at home, and since you don't get roaming on Tracfone, it was almost useless to me at home.

I upgraded to an unlocked Note 9, and switched to a Tracfone/AT&T sim, much better signal and service in my neighborhood.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-05-2019, 03:32 PM
 
Location: Sierra Nevada Land, CA
8,676 posts, read 9,450,900 times
Reputation: 13850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wartrace View Post
It is a "new" purchase from tracfone so I am assuming it is a new tracfone sim card. I just figured out how to set the phone to CDMA (3G) which the old Luna phone is set to. I am going to go out and test it in some of the dead spots.
3g?Verizon is phasing out 3g. I say Verizon because they (and Sprint) use CDMA. I would suggest trying a 4g setup.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-06-2019, 02:26 AM
 
Location: Ocala, FL
3,449 posts, read 6,328,246 times
Reputation: 3076
The S7 does support LTE. I have had both the Verizon and Sprint branded models of the same device when I switched carriers
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-06-2019, 06:18 AM
 
7,147 posts, read 3,904,178 times
Reputation: 6691
Keep in mind there are multiple LTE bands as carriers do spectrum all the time. While the S7 is still pretty new it’s possible it doesn’t support one or two bands in use at OP’s location.

But that wouldn’t explain why an even older phone had better coverage - unless an antenna issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top