Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > Charleston area
 [Register]
Charleston area Charleston - North Charleston - Mt. Pleasant - Summerville - Goose Creek
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-07-2012, 08:42 PM

3 posts, read 9,375 times

Advertisements

Hi Everyone,

I've been reading through the forums here to try and get a good idea of places to live. I may be moving to the area in the near future to begin work at MUSC. I am a young professional without a lot of money. I am trying to find a place to live that is affordable, a nice area with decent living conditions, and hopefully someplace out of the "hood." I've been perusing Craig's List and some other renting sites, as well as this forum, for ideas. Most of what I have been seeing has either been way out of my price range (I will be making a very small amount and will have a lot of graduate school loans to make payments on as well as my rent) or I have had difficulty telling the quality of the area.

I have spent the last four years in Detroit. I have had my fill of inner-city life and would like to try and avoid that if I can. It wouldn't be the end of the world if I end up back in the hoods, but I am hoping for some suggestions from you all about places to live or where to look.