U.S. Cities  
Merry Christmas!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > Charleston area
Register Blogs Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Charleston area Charleston - North Charleston - Mt. Pleasant - Summerville - Goose Creek

Welcome to City-Data.com forum! Make sure to register - it's free and very quick! You have to register before you can post and participate in our discussions with 700,000 other registered members. User profiles and some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your free account you will be able to customize many options, you will have the full access to over 15,000 posts/day about local topics and you will see fewer ads.

Get a detailed profile
Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply


 
Old 04-11-2008, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cleaveland, SC
183 posts, read 199,890 times
Reputation: 28
vamtncat is on a distinguished road
Default Certain rental listings on Craigslist

This may be an obviously silly question but one worth asking. I've come across a number of rental listings on Craigslist that were showing pictures of the same house over and over but different descriptions and locations. All the ads gave was a 1-800 # to call. I tried reverse lookup to no avail. First Red Flag. So.... I called the 1800 number and found that the listings are from a company called HR National and they list properties that are in pre-forclosure. (Second red flag??) For a fee of $150, they supposedly provide you with the listings, financial consultants, etc. Their website is hrnational.com.

Has anyone out there had any contact with these folks? Are they legit? I'm cautious about these but the monthly rental rates are attractive. No I have not sent any money or given any personal info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 04-11-2008, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
4,490 posts, read 1,938,554 times
Reputation: 747
Rggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to beholdRggr is a splendid one to behold
I would stay far away from that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-11-2008, 09:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: High Point, NC
22 posts, read 19,261 times
Reputation: 12
jba4241 is on a distinguished road
Yeah, I get irritated everytime I click an ad and find that same house. I wish they would just have one add per month. There are cheaper services to find foreclosure and pre-foclosure listings. You may want to google that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-14-2008, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
1,929 posts, read 1,375,755 times
Reputation: 671
emilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to beholdemilybh is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by vamtncat View Post
This may be an obviously silly question but one worth asking. I've come across a number of rental listings on Craigslist that were showing pictures of the same house over and over but different descriptions and locations. All the ads gave was a 1-800 # to call. I tried reverse lookup to no avail. First Red Flag. So.... I called the 1800 number and found that the listings are from a company called HR National and they list properties that are in pre-forclosure. (Second red flag??) For a fee of $150, they supposedly provide you with the listings, financial consultants, etc. Their website is hrnational.com.

Has anyone out there had any contact with these folks? Are they legit? I'm cautious about these but the monthly rental rates are attractive. No I have not sent any money or given any personal info.
Those lists of forclosures or work at home companies or business opportunities you have to pay for don't have any info you can't get for free if you aren't afraid to do a little research. The Real Estate boards on City-Data is a wealth of info. I've gotten links to bank owned property listings for FREE there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-14-2008, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cleaveland, SC
183 posts, read 199,890 times
Reputation: 28
vamtncat is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by emilybh View Post
Those lists of forclosures or work at home companies or business opportunities you have to pay for don't have any info you can't get for free if you aren't afraid to do a little research. The Real Estate boards on City-Data is a wealth of info. I've gotten links to bank owned property listings for FREE there.
I'm just curious how they work. They are showing monthly rental amounts which I assume is the original house payment. I am looking to rent for about a year untill we get settled. Some of these homes seem appealing but you know how that is... if its too good to be true.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-14-2008, 03:05 PM
Realtor
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
3,557 posts, read 2,224,192 times
Reputation: 1167
Brandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud ofBrandon Hoffman has much to be proud of
My guess is they find distressed owners by looking at courthouse docs and strike a deal of some sort with the owners to compile the data. Most of them sell the lists (a la Rentmark) and make their money selling a list that you could find yourself with some legwork. If you're looking rentals avoid a pre-foreclosure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.



Reply


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads


Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > Charleston area

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 AM.

Copyright © 2005-2009, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 - Top