Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > Charleston area
 [Register]
Charleston area Charleston - North Charleston - Mt. Pleasant - Summerville - Goose Creek
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-11-2009, 07:12 AM

10 posts, read 32,515 times

Advertisements

Hi there!

We are planning on moving to Sc (persumably Carleston area) fro´m europe. i am a 27 year old engineer and my wife is a dentist. we could make a fairly reasonable down paymant on a home and are looking for an area with a stable economy and good job situation as well as a good standard of living and decent housing. I lived in Pittsburgh PA as a Child my family has property in SC and we have been coming down here quite often for vacation over the past 15 years - We really love it here.

Also a concern from my wife is the bug situation in the south. the coastal reagions of SC are full of palmetto bugs and other large insects that she has a strong phobia agains . Are there areas in SC that are less "bug infested"? What about further north in NC? Charlotte seems to be a fairly nice city with good housing and job oppertunities. do they have palmetto bugs and these large "down-south-insects" up there? they do have colder winters...

Thank you for your sugestions and comments!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-11-2009, 07:35 AM

1,859 posts, read 5,007,708 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bumbu View Post
Hi there!