U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-11-2011, 09:01 AM
 
985 posts, read 1,652,638 times
Reputation: 377

Advertisements

thoughts? We have at&t here for home phone but seem not to use the home phone much at all.

Trying to decide...and input would be great!

adding: we are moving to Hunter Oaks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-11-2011, 09:04 AM
 
716 posts, read 1,359,938 times
Reputation: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by mewith3 View Post
thoughts? We have at&t here for home phone but seem not to use the home phone much at all.

Trying to decide...and input would be great!

adding: we are moving to Hunter Oaks

I think you answered your own question Most people I know have done away with the landline many years ago.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-11-2011, 09:06 AM
 
Location: The 12th State
22,974 posts, read 58,581,142 times
Reputation: 14925
It has been over a decade or more since I ever owned a home phone

I just switch to At&t this month and love the Wifi enabled since I live in a rural location.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-11-2011, 09:06 AM
 
985 posts, read 1,652,638 times
Reputation: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlotteCharlotte View Post
I think you answered your own question Most people I know have done away with the landline many years ago.
true I guess the kids use it more than us though...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-11-2011, 09:09 AM
 
Location: The 12th State
22,974 posts, read 58,581,142 times
Reputation: 14925
Look at the family share plans vs cost of having a landline
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-11-2011, 09:12 AM
 
Location: Charlotte, NC
2,352 posts, read 4,034,011 times
Reputation: 3035
I kept a landline for years, so my kids would have a phone when I was out of the house without them. They *both* have cellphones now, so they can reach me. I held onto the landline a bit longer than I needed to, because a real landline (not through cable) will work if there's a power outage. In a big emergency, cell service might be jammed, and the power might be out...

I finally realized that in case of an apocalypse, more than likely, I would not be concerned about phone service... especially, if everyone else had cell phones only and I couldn't reach anyone!

We use cell only now, with occasional skyping.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-11-2011, 09:17 AM
 
8,402 posts, read 20,336,309 times
Reputation: 6775
I'm a single guy and can't think of a single instance where dropping my home phone service has been a problem. But here are some things to consider:

1. In a wide power outage, cell phones may not work. A cheap phone plugged into landline service is just about infallible.

2. You can't get the whole family on a cell phone (except for a speakerphone) to talk to grandma.

3. Do you know for sure that your service works well in your new home? There are places in my home that my cell works very poorly. When I used it for work, that forced me to get VOIP for a while, just so I could have conversations without having to say "what did you say?" repeatedly.

4. You can get VOIP for less than $15 a month.

That's just a few points to consider. I'm sure other people can add to that list.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-11-2011, 09:19 AM
 
985 posts, read 1,652,638 times
Reputation: 377
thinking this through if there is a home alarm system you need the landline...hmmm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-11-2011, 09:28 AM
 
3,151 posts, read 3,138,613 times
Reputation: 1076
how do you have internet without land line..I know cable but usually you have to do triple service to get discount..also I have home security but it is satellite
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-11-2011, 09:55 AM
 
8,402 posts, read 20,336,309 times
Reputation: 6775
Quote:
Originally Posted by mewith3 View Post
thinking this through if there is a home alarm system you need the landline...hmmm
You can do a cellular line for this, and I think satellite, voip, and cable service also have options for some alarm monitoring.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:




Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top