U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-14-2011, 12:32 PM

8 posts, read 13,140 times

Advertisements

Hey everybody, I am an upcoming graduate from Radford University in VA. I am looking at different police departments to apply for. I am looking at larger departments staying south of where I am from. This brings me to the largest department in NC. As most people would assume the departments give the same spiel about how they do everything and all of their officers are top notch, but I want to hear your opinions on the department to help make my decision. Do the officers get involved in the community? Do you feel they are adequate in solving crimes? Also, Charlotte has a very high crime rate do you feel this is because the police do not care enough, under staffed, the crime is just too out of control, or some other reason? Just in case it matters I am looking at departments in the Raleigh/Durham area and Nashville area also if you have any info on them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-14-2011, 09:02 PM

1,142 posts, read 1,443,221 times
It's my belief that the officers are top notch. The department also has embraced community policing and credit the assistance provided by the community for lowering crime rates. My experience with the Police Department comes primarily from their Citizens Academy, in which training staff and other officers and department staff eagerly and thoroughly provide citizens with information about police operations.