U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 04-22-2011, 06:46 PM
 
Location: Fort Mill
1,215 posts, read 2,493,437 times
Reputation: 381

Advertisements

Any reason why the DOT highway signs are always under "test" in the Charlotte area? In South Carolina they always work as they are supposed to, and when ive left the Charlotte area, I know ive seen more then "NC DOT sign under test". Any reason?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 04-22-2011, 07:27 PM
 
Location: Winston-Salem
700 posts, read 1,431,947 times
Reputation: 310
Default State Cut Backs

No one is there to type anything in because they got cut.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-22-2011, 08:17 PM
 
3,774 posts, read 6,989,864 times
Reputation: 4402
Because Raleigh hates us

Do you know how hard it is in the south to find someone who can spell "congested"?

Peter Gorman was put in charge of all the electronic signs

Let's face it... Multisyllable words are a challenge for most charlotteans

Longer messages cause accidents from people scrunching their face to "read better"

There's so many Yankees in Charlotte now the DOT figures all the drivers already know everything

The software only included three words. The other one was "construction", so we don't use that one anymore
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2011, 07:12 AM
 
Location: What use to be the South
441 posts, read 1,283,748 times
Reputation: 485
I want to say that I saw something on the news a while back that stated that the company that made these signs had gone out of business. The DOT had been cannibalizing what they could to keep others going. I am guessing that they are in the process of replacing them all and are running them nonstop to check their reliability. JMO
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2011, 10:05 AM
 
Location: Fort Mill
1,215 posts, read 2,493,437 times
Reputation: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by racewire20 View Post
I want to say that I saw something on the news a while back that stated that the company that made these signs had gone out of business. The DOT had been cannibalizing what they could to keep others going. I am guessing that they are in the process of replacing them all and are running them nonstop to check their reliability. JMO
Im pretty positive they are made by Daktronics, which is doing great business. I could be wrong though as its hard to stare at them doing 70 on the highway.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2011, 11:07 AM
 
Location: Matthews, NC
14,693 posts, read 23,073,113 times
Reputation: 14332
I didn't know that they were. I drive past one every day and it is usually blank. Thank God for small favors because people slam on their brakes to read it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2011, 12:11 PM
 
Location: Charlotte, NC (in my mind)
7,946 posts, read 15,006,606 times
Reputation: 4481
Only time I ever see them on is if its like an amber alert or something. Many larger cities use them to report traffic conditions. Have never seen them used for that purpose in Charlotte.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2011, 01:29 PM
 
Location: The 12th State
22,974 posts, read 58,475,137 times
Reputation: 14917
I also have never seen them use for anything except "Race Traffic expect delays."

I agree with others if there is two parts to the sign you never have enough time to finish reading them kinda like the electronic billboards you have to be going really slow to catch both images.


Last edited by SunnyKayak; 04-23-2011 at 02:23 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-23-2011, 02:12 PM
 
Location: Charlotte
2,447 posts, read 6,642,486 times
Reputation: 1389
Occasionally I have seen them give travel times to an exit. One morning on 77 I was near exit 18 and a sign said it would take 25 - 30 minutes to get to exit 23. Traffic had been flowing nicely and I chalked it up to an error. Sure enough there was a wreck and it took me almost 30 minutes to get to Huntersville.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:



Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 AM.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top