U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-28-2012, 11:42 PM

9 posts, read 11,154 times

Advertisements

Hi!

I am currently living up North and am planning on relocating to a warmer climate to seek new employment opportunities. I was an accountant years ago, but switched to teaching after my second child was born. Now that he's about to go off to college I don't have to worry about staying up North where the COL is killing me.

I recently finished an MS in accounting and am looking to get back into the field. I also plan on getting my CPA in the next couple months. I am targeting to relocate by the end of summer 2013 and Charlotte is on my short list. I'll have between 1 to 2 years living expenses covered so I will have some time to do some job hunting. My questions are as followed:

1) How is the job market for accounting/finance positions in Charlotte? Doesn't have to necessarily be a firm, would be interested in working for corporations, non-profits, universities, etc too. How about teaching jobs (k-12)?

2)Where would be the best place to live? My criteria:
Budget: 1300-1500 a month.

Style: Condo/townhome 2br 1-2 bath.

Other Prefs: Schools are not important but I do need a SAFE environment. This is the first time in over two decades that I'll be living alone. I would like to be in vibrant neighborhood (NO SUBURBIA!!) where I could be in close proximity to shopping, dinning, entertainment, gyms/parks.