U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-27-2013, 04:24 PM
 
5,150 posts, read 6,640,893 times
Reputation: 1438

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by frewroad View Post
NC does recognize valid registrations from other states. If the vehicle is properly registered in California, then it's fine here. You have to provide proper proof. It's the same for drivers licenses. NC does require you to register in this state after you become a resident. As a visiting student you are not a resident. Either the policeman did not understand this, or you did not have the proper documentation. Same for inspections. If everything is in order, then it sounds as if you can provide the proper documentation to the court clerk, they will toss this out.

As far as the speeding ticket goes, you were clocked for more than 15 mph over the posted speed limit and that speed limit was 55. This is known as excessive speeding and you have no choice on this one. You will need to go to court. It's a lot more serious than speeding and technically you could get get your license revoked over this one (especially if you are still a teenager), but if it is your first time then typically you will pay a hefty fine and court costs. If you are lucky, they might reduce it to less than 15 then you will pay a smaller fine and court costs. Either way be prepared to pay out money for this charge and they may also report it to your car insurance company.

If you want more detail, go to NCDOT.gov and look at the driver's handbook. You can also look at Chapter 20 of the NC state statutes.
I agree with what you are saying but it confuses me because it seems to state that if you "move" here then you have to get plates after 30 days (usually). But you can't do that without having an NCDL.

Something must have triggered the cop to act this way. I'll pop some corn in the meantime.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-27-2013, 04:27 PM
 
5,150 posts, read 6,640,893 times
Reputation: 1438
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulosfm View Post
Go to court on the appointed day.
Why wait? The ADA is there only three days a week for four hours a day. The DA recommends contacting them before the court date. I would not count on even getting to talk to an ADA on the same court date but YMMV.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:



Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 AM.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top