U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-07-2007, 12:28 PM

29 posts, read 66,091 times

Advertisements

I am confused. I am a loan officer in the Charlotte area and I have been doing this for a total of 4 months. Prior to this line of work I purchased loans for a large Finance Company for 6 years. Every day I saw thousands of loans where the borrowers (in my opinion) were paying too much for their loans and had bad rates.

For some reason I thought I could make a difference by being Honest and up front about my Rates and fees (you are suppose too) and yet it seems to back fire on me.
One, I am not pushy and I do try to provide the BEST rate and product I can. After all, I have access to MANY lenders which allows me to shop and compare rates for my borrowers.
Two, I feel as if I am not telling the people what they want to hear resulting in many of them going somewhere else for their loan. I know for a fact that they are not getting a better deal than I offer but they do it anyway.
I had one guy some back and tell me he wished he would have used me because he now feels my deal was much better. (he sent me a referral)

I realize many people do not totally understand the loan process and often accept the terms presented to them. This does not mean they were given a bad deal but they can usually do better. I am not set on simply telling people what they want to hear opposed to the truth and this has been a major problem. This is the way I am and I could not sleep at night other wise.