U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-01-2015, 07:14 PM

576 posts, read 503,477 times

Advertisements

Contemplating enrolling at ITT to pursue an Associate's Degree in Network Systems Administration hoping this would put me on the path to a career in the IT field. I currently work in the Retirement Benefits industry as a 401k Plan Administrator but am contemplating a career change. I've often seen ITT's commercials and wondered if it would be a good starting point for me. I've visited their campuses and the cost of the Associate's Program is roughly $40k.

I wonder how much weight a degree from ITT really holds in the job market? Is it "worth" it to attend this program? Do employers recognize an ITT degree to be of much value?

Any ITT grads out there who can share their experiences?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-01-2015, 07:24 PM

625 posts, read 199,988 times
$40K is a lot to spend on an associates. Check your local Community College and take classes there.
From what I've heard, places like ITT are a scam. Do an on-lie search for reviews "ITT Tech Reviews" and read what people say.
As a manager, if I had a few people applying for jobs an one had an Associates Degree from a regular college and one had a degree from ITT, all other things being equal, I'm going to hire the regular college person. ITT is seen as a diploma mill where anyone with the funds to pay can go and graduate.

Old 10-01-2015, 08:57 PM

2,143 posts, read 2,611,764 times