U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-28-2008, 07:46 PM

11 posts, read 20,287 times

Advertisements

I am a teacher (elementary) in Michigan and am in the process of applying to the Charlotte-Mecklenberg, Iredell-Statesville, and Mooresville school districts. I have two elementary school aged children. Any advice on specific schools to check into or avoid? Any areas to avoid or make sure I visit? I'm looking for a family friendly area, but not real expensive. I'm living on a teacher's salary. I would really like to teach in the same school my kids attend or at least be close by. If I get offered a job, it would be nice to know ahead of time if it's a school or area I would like my kids to attend or if I need to keep looking. I figured from around Statesville through Charlotte would be my range since the water and the city are close enough for comfort, but I don't know where to start looking. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I will be visiting the week of March 24th.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-28-2008, 08:13 PM

4,093 posts, read 10,148,443 times
Please know that even if you teach elem. and your children are elem., they will not be allowed to come to your room at the end of the day. NC is very different in that. You will have to pay for after school care and go and get them at the end of the day.

Please also be aware that your insurance will NOT cover your children and be prepared to shell out between $500-$650/month for their coverage.