U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-12-2017, 12:30 PM

68 posts, read 34,240 times

Advertisements

DH and I are looking to move back east from the midwest as soon as we are empty nesters in 1.5 years. DH is in banking and we are looking at the Charlotte/Ft. Mill areas for that reason. Plus that puts us closer to family in VA and GA. We used to live outside of D.C. and hoping to live in an area that won't create a huge commute for either of us.

I'm a special ed teacher and will likely eventually (10-15 yrs) retire from the district that will hire me. My current position is at a high needs middle school and as of now, I'd like to continue in that setting. Pros/cons to teaching in NC vs SC? I've looked a little at how to transfer my license and trying to research school environments, philosophies, benefits, pay, etc.

I'd appreciate any advice or links to information in addition to the state education sites I've been using.

Also if anyone wants to weigh in on areas, happy for any info. Love planning for a change! Thanks in advance!
Quick reply to this message

Old 08-14-2017, 05:42 AM

4,093 posts, read 10,147,408 times
How many years do you have in your current state? Do you plan to move any of those years over? You need to carefully look at the retirement here vs where you are.

You need a min. of 20 years in the schools here to get a decent retirement with benefits, 30 for full retirement.