U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-10-2007, 05:18 PM

8 posts, read 27,752 times

Advertisements

Hello - I am a young single woman in my late 20's looking to relocate Charlotte in either late spring or early summer of 2007. Currently I work in the advertising/marketing industry. Part of the reason I am leaving New York is to get away from the stressful work and living environments and am looking for a total change of pace. I'm considering going into teaching. I've been trying to figure out what steps I need to take, how long it will take to get my licensce......and down the road masters of education programs. Does anyone have any advice on what schools I should check out? How long it will take before I can teach? I've been looking in UNCC but unfortunately they told me it takes a full year to establish NC residency and the out of state tuition is too pricey for me at this point. Also - in terms of neighborhoods - as a young professional do I need to be in the uptown area? What about Elizabeth or Dilworth. I'd love to get a townhouse rather then live in an apt. again. Any advice or recommendations would be wonderful. Thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-10-2007, 05:40 PM

2,314 posts, read 2,110,480 times
Dilworth and Elizabeth can be pricey. If you are still hopefull of attending UNCC I would look into the Huntersville corridor. You can get a decent townhome in a good area in the $130K all day long. Obvioulsy if you want to live downtown you are going to pay for the trend.