U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-11-2008, 07:58 AM

11 posts, read 25,642 times

Advertisements

I wrote here about 6 mo ago. I was talking about how crazy it is to move without having a job.... but since we were staying in Alabama, we decided that nothing can be worse (job wise) and we moved to Charlotte )).

It's been 5 months since. .... I got a job 2 months ago, but it was not a job i was looking for (I wanted to work as a teacher assistant for a year ..until i get my teaching license). I work as a cashier, oh well, you have to get money somewhere to pay rent and bills. I keep applying for jobs at CMS.....

My husband hasn't found a job yet....he is trying to get an assistant manager position or manager's trainee or at least something that would allow that management trainee program in the nearest future....He got out of the military last year. He's almost done with his bachelor's degree in Business Management, so he needs to get experience in that field. He began by looking for government jobs, then other jobs.... then he was checking out best buy, walmart, target, office max, hobby lobby, home depot, arby's, harris teeter, walgreens, first aid, macdonalds, etc.

He was offered only stocker's positions at several big stores (and they were only part-time, seasonal, minimum wage, 15 miles away)...i do not think there can be any kind of promotion or trainee program when you work as a stocker.