U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-24-2009, 06:06 PM

20,491 posts, read 25,691,530 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by anifani821 View Post
Brian, when I was a freshman in college (a looooooong time ago) I wrote a paper on the societal benefits of legalizing marijuana. I wish I still had that paper, as I still wholeheartedly believe what I wrote is spot on.

For one thing . . . the marijuana would be tested as to strength and quality, thus assuring consistent product on the market. Plus, it would completely cut out all the need for illegal drug trafficking (in pot) and that alone would cut down on crime. And it would cut down on the dollars that are literally removed out of circulation here in the good ole USA . . . as the product would be bought and sold right here - so no money having to be laundered or carried out of this country (and becoming part of the GDP for Mexico and Canada and god knows wherever else the stuff is grown).

I think there is enuff historical data just from my generation to show that there are people who have smoked pot for decades and never used any other drug - so can that "gateway" theory. People who smoke pot are mellowing out, not looking for the experience one gets w/ cocaine or (shivers) heroin. Not that I would know! I am so against drugs - I don't even like to take tylenol (bad for your liver) unless I have no choice and need some kind of pain killer.

But for the life of me . . . I don't see how one can drink alcoholic beverages and then be so rabid against marijuana. ????