U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-28-2008, 04:10 PM

67 posts, read 271,564 times

Advertisements

I will be going to the Celtics/Bobcats game tomorrow nite.
It's my first time there and I don't wanna get lost or confused or park in an undesirable location.
I am coming from Hickory.
What is the best route to the stadium? Any parking recommendations ?
Is Light Rail a good option? Where would it make sense to board?
Is the Light Rail a safe option later in the evening after the game?

Thanks for any info you can provide.

Len in Hickory
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-28-2008, 04:19 PM

1,877 posts, read 4,305,732 times
Tomorrow is sure to be a heavy attendence night. That being said, regardless of where you park, you should have no trouble being on the road in less than 15 minutes.

Light rail is perfectly safe, and perhaps a fun novelty. I would say to expect higher than normal ridership, but if you get on at the southern most stop, you should have no problem finding a seat.

If you'd rather park near the arena, I would suggest Brevard north of 7th. It's only a 2-3 block walk to the arena, the price is lower ($5, I think), and it's pretty easy in and out.

As for a route, I would think 16 all of the way in to 277 would work. I get the names confused (who names a loop with 2 different names??), but head on the northern leg, to get to the arena fastest.

Hope you have a great time (and root for the Cats)!!

Old 11-28-2008, 04:33 PM

2,742 posts, read 5,986,608 times