|

07-13-2009, 12:29 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2006
1,781 posts, read 1,536,485 times
Reputation: 615
|
|
Charlotte ranks 11th for job postings???
I find that hard to believe, but here's the link:
Where are the Jobs? | Indeed.com
Maybe they're not all "legitimate" job postings?
|
|

07-13-2009, 02:32 PM
|
|
Experienced Secretary for Hire
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2007
1,208 posts, read 1,056,492 times
Reputation: 427
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by stmaarten
|
As someone who checks Indeed postings daily, I can tell you that they are NOT all legitimate jobs. Many are employment agencies "phishing" for clients. Many are postings by the military (Be All That You Can Be). Right now, the majority of the postings seem to be medical in nature, or have to do with the IT or financial industry. And, frankly, many are just scammy-type opportunities. When a legitimate opportunity comes along, there are so many applicants that many times you NEVER hear another word when you apply. Occasionally, you get the "due to the enormous response, we are unable to respond to every applicant." I just don't think "answering ads" is the BEST way to find a job these days. If ever there were a time to use your network, this is it. Someone is going to have to hand-carry your resume in and say "hire this person," to even get an interview.
|
|

07-13-2009, 03:34 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2007
715 posts, read 535,340 times
Reputation: 190
|
|
So perhaps Charlotte has the 11th most scammers in the country 
|
|

07-13-2009, 03:38 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2007
994 posts, read 519,398 times
Reputation: 183
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankTheTank2
So perhaps Charlotte has the 11th most scammers in the country 
|
Thats what I'm thinking. With one of the highest unemployment rates in the country, there are a lot of desperate people out there looking for jobs and are willing to try anything(so the scammers hope).
|
|

07-13-2009, 05:47 PM
|
|
Life is a Journey
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Yellow Brick Road
20,542 posts, read 10,904,132 times
Reputation: 4091
|
|
|
Agree. I have checked several of those ads out myself - just to see if they were agencies doing some phishing. Every last one was a BS ad. Good grief. That trick is the oldest one in the book - when times are tough, keep drumming up potential applicants even if you don't have the jobs. Then if you get interesting resumes, you call whatever companies you think may have job openings (or be considering an expansion) and you try pitching a candidate w/ a cold call to see if you can get in the door - and get a candidate placed - and thus, GET YOUR COMMISSION.
I have dealt w/ many a recruiter who was playing this game (when I was fielding the calls as the employer). It is not even a new game - but the internet allows these companies to phish a much big pool of out of work folks!!!
|
|

07-13-2009, 05:56 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2007
1,924 posts, read 873,544 times
Reputation: 528
|
|
|
Seems that every city posts that the "Post office is hiring" or for traveling models to make big bucks. There are the same bogus ads in every major newspaper.
|
|

07-13-2009, 06:35 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Crown Town
1,490 posts, read 1,048,884 times
Reputation: 644
|
|
Can you guys explain a little more about what you mean when you say these are bogus postings? I just went through the Charlotte link below from that site and I actually thought it was pretty good. Several of the large companies postings linked directly to the company websites. I actually intended to send that link to some friends, but I want to be able to warn them about the issue you all noted, but I want to understand it more...
Link: Charlotte, NC Jobs | Indeed.com
|
|

07-13-2009, 07:02 PM
|
|
Life is a Journey
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Yellow Brick Road
20,542 posts, read 10,904,132 times
Reputation: 4091
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carolina Blue
Can you guys explain a little more about what you mean when you say these are bogus postings? I just went through the Charlotte link below from that site and I actually thought it was pretty good. Several of the large companies postings linked directly to the company websites. I actually intended to send that link to some friends, but I want to be able to warn them about the issue you all noted, but I want to understand it more...
Link: Charlotte, NC Jobs | Indeed.com
|
The jobs that are linked to a company website are worth checking out. I go to the website and make sure they are active listings. As long as they are, then no reason to assume they are anything but legit. 
|
|

07-13-2009, 08:20 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2009
813 posts, read 176,604 times
Reputation: 271
|
|
|
There are plenty of jobs here taken by those who speak spanish and have no VALID IDS. Charlotte is called a magnet city because very little is being done to deal with the growing number of illegals.....
|
|

07-13-2009, 08:25 PM
|
|
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Crown Town
1,490 posts, read 1,048,884 times
Reputation: 644
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by anifani821
The jobs that are linked to a company website are worth checking out. I go to the website and make sure they are active listings. As long as they are, then no reason to assume they are anything but legit. 
|
Good info ani and stmaarten. I think the ranking is probably bogus. I don't see how Charlotte can be ranked so high, while Portland, a similar high growth area with high unemployment, is ranked so low. But with that said, I'll certainly be passing that link on to some friends of mine. It looked pretty informative for job openings.
|
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick.
Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.
|
|