U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 07-29-2009, 07:20 PM
 
Location: Lake Wylie SC
55 posts, read 172,226 times
Reputation: 52

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nativechief View Post
The way the NC law works says you need no licence to fish inTHE COUNTY IN WHICH YOU ARE A LEGAL RESIDENT IF YOU USE LIVE/NATURAL BAIT..no LURES ETC. You will have to be able to show where you live like a nc drivers licence
I had been told that this used to be the regulations, but it had changed recently (2007). I scoured the NC fishing regulation site, and I can't find anything that says this is the law. The only exception I have found to a license requirement is if the person is under the age of 16. That's the thing about asking a question like this on a forum, everybody means to help (myself included), but there's 10 people with 10 answers. I'll say again, if it were me, rather than trust what all of us say, I'd just make the phone call to NC Wildlife and ask THEM what the requirements and exceptions are. It's as easy as making a phone call, but if one of us gives the wrong information it could be a pretty costly fine for someone.

Tell you what, I'll call tomorrow myself and ask, and post what they tell me back here.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-29-2009, 07:24 PM
 
Location: Lake Wylie SC
55 posts, read 172,226 times
Reputation: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by (:Matt:) View Post
[SIZE=2]I am staying in a rental on the S.C. side of Lake Wylie. I will be fishing at the property and on a rented pontoon boat. I planned on buying a S.C. fishing license but if I dock and fish from shore on the N.C. side is that illegal?[/SIZE]
[SIZE=2][/SIZE]
Matt, I think I may have misunderstood your post. I thought you were saying you lived in SC. I'm still not quite sure. So, my previous reply is likely not correct.

That imaginary state line, thankfully my GPS in my boat tells me exactly where it is, though I have licenses in both states.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-29-2009, 08:08 PM
 
3,071 posts, read 7,677,534 times
Reputation: 1622
Thank you allen for the most up to date info..I was not aware the law changed in 2007..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-30-2009, 10:24 AM
 
Location: Lake Wylie SC
55 posts, read 172,226 times
Reputation: 52
Ok, I just got off of the phone with NC Wildlife. I posed the question as such;

I currently reside in SC but will be moving to a waterfront condo in Mecklenburg cty on Lake Wylie. If I fish from the shore or dock will I need a license in my resident county?

My reply was that yes, regardless of shore, boat or dock, a resident license would be required once I moved and became a resident. The person also explained further, that what was once known as the 'live bait law' was changed in January 2007, and that now it made no difference if you were using live bait or a lure, from shore or ship, if you fish, you gotta have a license.

So, sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but just would hate to see somebody get a $160 ticket for it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-30-2009, 08:13 PM
 
3,071 posts, read 7,677,534 times
Reputation: 1622
When you get ready to fish you can use my old time crank telephone. The game warden wont even see you with rods, but he sure as (censored ) better not see you cranking that phone,Lordy,,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-27-2015, 07:54 PM
 
1 posts, read 918 times
Reputation: 10
If I'm a resident of sc do I need to go to NC to buy a non resident fishing license?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-31-2015, 08:32 PM
 
Location: Charlotte, NC
4,754 posts, read 6,390,950 times
Reputation: 5229
Yes. You can pick one up at the gas station at the corner of South Tryon and Youngblood/Shopton If you come in that way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:




Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
Similar Threads
View detailed profiles of:
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. | Please obey Forum Rules | Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top