U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 08-03-2009, 08:50 PM
 
1,013 posts, read 2,647,797 times
Reputation: 757

Advertisements

Needing new cell phone pretty soon. Very interested in the iphone. Anyone have AT&T service around charlotte, if so, how is it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-03-2009, 09:07 PM
 
1,031 posts, read 2,143,939 times
Reputation: 521
I have AT&T and have for years (when they were Cingular). In a moment of weakness this summer (buy 1 phone get 7 or 8 free), I switched to Verizon but couldn't get a good signal (in Weddington), so switched back after a week. The wife had to go to the end of our driveway to make calls. Verizon tech support, pretty much told me to get bent. So I switched back and have never had a problem since, although their customer service isn't all that great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2009, 05:47 AM
 
3,774 posts, read 6,989,864 times
Reputation: 4402
more dropped calls in more places. I switched from Sprint for the iphone two years ago... hated Sprint customer service, but the call quality and coverage for Sprint is head and shoulders above ATT and the iPhone. I love the iPhone, but I don't think I can go another two years with ATT... the coverage is just that ridiculous.

As a matter of fact... wanna buy a used iPhone?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2009, 07:11 AM
 
Location: Charlotte
162 posts, read 350,695 times
Reputation: 122
I've had an awful experience with ATT. We couldn't make calls in our house, and there was a dead zone in the shopping center across the street....ironically- which contains an ATT store.

We jumped to Verizon and if it wasn't for the fact my company pays for my work cell phone on ATT, I'd never use them again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2009, 07:15 AM
 
Location: State of Being
35,885 posts, read 67,009,663 times
Reputation: 22370
I had Cingular in KS, carried that plan to NC, then the company became AT&T. Have had no problems w/ coverage here or when traveling. I am in S. CLT but hubby and I both travel and he has no problem w coverage up and down the east coast and throughout the central USA and on occasion, in the NW (Washington, Oregon). We have also been able to get coverage in Mexico and the Caribbean. We are happy with our plan. We have bundled services - long distance, cell and DSL all thru/ AT&T.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2009, 07:25 AM
 
Location: Way up high
14,115 posts, read 20,818,955 times
Reputation: 14390
I've never had a problem with at&t. There is one patch on Poplar Tent Rd though that drops my calls. Other than that, no problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2009, 10:14 AM
 
248 posts, read 638,964 times
Reputation: 143
I have had sprint and I am very happy with it. My friends have iphones and AT&T and they get into no signal or lose the 3G in many spots.. I get 3G on my phone all the way and my 3g is faster than AT&T's.. signal is better and plans are cheaper..

one of my friend pays $150 for unlimited service.. another pays $100 for some 900 minutes and data plan + texting..

doesnt sprint's everything plan cost $99 for everything? including Sprint Radio, Sprint TV, Sprint GPS??

do i sound like a sprint salesman? I am not.. LOL!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2009, 10:30 AM
 
Location: North Carolina
6,772 posts, read 11,866,602 times
Reputation: 6513
We have AT&T and live in Union County. Can't make calls in the house, and in the yard get one or two bars w/ no 3g. Everywhere else I go it seems to work fine tho. I love the iphone so won't switch and just use a landline in the house.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2009, 10:31 AM
 
Location: Charlotte, NC
2,352 posts, read 4,025,244 times
Reputation: 3035
I've had AT&T for years, now, and have never had a problem with dropped calls. I was forced to go with SunCom when they split from AT&T, and they had the *worst* customer service! I've called AT&T several times and have always been treated courteously & professionally.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2009, 10:51 AM
 
58 posts, read 150,889 times
Reputation: 35
I used to have AT&T (back when it was Cingular) in CT and it worked great and I never had problems. When I moved to Charlotte, I would lose calls frequently, particularly along I-485, which made conversations frustrating, so I switched to Alltel and I love it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:



Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 AM.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top