U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 09-26-2009, 12:41 PM
 
Location: CLT native
4,280 posts, read 10,034,489 times
Reputation: 2270

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Ignatowski View Post
Mullman, can you attach your alarm to a wireless connection somehow?
Y, its all included in my CPI setup
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-26-2009, 07:39 PM
 
Location: Lake Norman, NC
7,181 posts, read 11,197,686 times
Reputation: 30731
We still have the landline strictly for the TIVO to communicate. I've been too lazy to hook the TIVO up to the wireless network inthe house. One of these days though....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-26-2009, 07:49 PM
 
1 posts, read 1,040 times
Reputation: 10
We have a landline and live in Union County, NC (very close to Mecklenburg County).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-26-2009, 09:35 PM
 
12 posts, read 25,405 times
Reputation: 10
I gave up my landline for a while but then i started working from home a lot and started making a lot of phone calls. I switched over to vonage (VOIP) and have been really happy about it. I think they also just released unlimited phone calls to anywhere in the world.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-26-2009, 09:40 PM
 
3,774 posts, read 6,990,604 times
Reputation: 4402
I've been without a landline since 1999 and have a monthly plan...

My alarm system is hooked up to a 95# Doberman and a Smith & Wesson
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-27-2009, 04:23 AM
 
Location: NC
5,116 posts, read 1,807,975 times
Reputation: 2374
I got my house in 2003 - never did have a landline, always had a cell.

Technically a fax line still counts as a landline, but if its only used for fax.....(yea yea efax I know I know).

Biggest worries are about 911 service/security and making sure you don't have dead spots or know where they are in your house when using your cell.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-27-2009, 05:30 AM
 
116 posts, read 253,182 times
Reputation: 101
For those of you that have monthly plans, who do you use and how much does it cost per month? I have heard horror stories where people with kids really ran up their phone bills.

Last edited by Jim Ignatowski; 09-27-2009 at 05:31 AM.. Reason: lskfjlskjfaljf;lksdfj
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-27-2009, 05:39 AM
 
Location: Indian Trail
148 posts, read 178,601 times
Reputation: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Ignatowski View Post
Just wondering how many of you have gotten rid of your land line and went totally wireless.

If you did, did you get a prepaid cell phone and pay per use?

Or, did you get a cell phone and a phone plan with agreement?

Has anyone had any experience with AT&T dry DSL?

Okay, that's enough questions, lol. I want to get rid of the land line we almost never use, but the spouse does not.


Like 3 years ago.....
AT&T is great, we have three iphones in the house with no probs.
My son has an iphone as well, and the parental controls are great.
We have a family plan.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-27-2009, 05:40 AM
 
Location: WA
588 posts, read 957,922 times
Reputation: 377
We don't have a regular land line through a telephone company; ours is VOIP (voice over IP) from TimeWarner. It's about $50 a month, which includes local, long distance, and some pretty cheap rates to Canada and parts of Europe.

We also have Vonage, but as we have a web design company, we upload/download a lot, which interferes with Vonage's reception (I mean really interferes).

We don't use cell phones much unless we're out, as they're maybe not so good for you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-27-2009, 08:51 AM
 
Location: Charlotte, NC
7,041 posts, read 13,105,221 times
Reputation: 2323
I gave up my landline years ago. Have 450 min/month with Verizon, never go over. Maybe I just don't call much??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:



Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top