U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-14-2007, 04:39 PM

5 posts, read 7,084 times

Advertisements

Hi! I'm new to the form and looking at relocating to the Charlotte area. My husband and I are are a young (20's 30's) couple, looking for a change of pace. We have a 2 month old little boy and are in search of a wonderful, family friendly (good schools, good people, etc) area.

We currently live about 20 miles outside DC in northern VA. It is sooo crazy around here and in order to have a home with a yard...you are looking at $600K plus....which isn't going to happen any time soon.

Here is what we are looking for (other than what is stated above).

4 brms
2.5 bths
newer home (if not new construction)
newer area w/ plenty of shopping/dining/etc.
great schools
great neighborhood with a pool etc for the little guy
at least a 1/4 acre

I have just started looking and I assume we want to be within 30 minutes (with traffic) or so of the city (for job purposes). We like the idea of being near a BIG city...but out enough to get the lifestlye we want. Dont want to be with all young single people.

Any suggestions on areas?? Also, if you could help with what we should prepare for as far as housing prices that would be helpful.

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-14-2007, 05:08 PM

396 posts, read 1,502,766 times
It would be helpful for everyone here to know what your price range is and where you will be working?? How far are you willing to commute?? Everyone out here is very helpful. Good luck.