U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-11-2010, 05:49 PM

26 posts, read 45,260 times

Advertisements

We are looking to move down from NJ to the Charlotte area. Next fall, I will have one child in Middle School and two in high school. I've researched area schools and have narrowed it down to a few areas. My question is, how is the job market? My husband is a truck driver (local). I am a substitute teacher. We would like to get out of NJ but we are very apprehensive coming down without a job. It is becoming too expensive up here and we are finding it difficult to make ends meet. Do you think finding a driving or warehouse job will be difficult? What about substituting, anybody know how much they make or if there is even a need?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-11-2010, 06:08 PM

7,041 posts, read 13,106,172 times
PLEASE do not come without jobs intact. The job market here is horrid and they are now looking at laying off a ton of teachers this summer. (so, the prospects for substituting would probably be slim). I think that Mecklenburg county (our county) has 11.3% unemployment (or maybe that is Charlotte?) anyway, our newspaper is Charlotte Observer - Carolina News Panthers Bobcats Sports Banking NASCAR Racing - CharlotteObserver.com and you can keep up with the latest news that way.

Old 05-11-2010, 06:25 PM

21,882 posts, read 27,145,371 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tina2Pastina View Post